The Runaway Dolls | Book 3 in Doll People

Title: The Runaway Dolls

Author: Ann M. Martin + Laura Godwin

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Family

Publication: Hyperion Books

Publication Date: October 7 2008

Pages: 352

Synoposis:

Best friends Annabelle Doll and Tiffany Funcraft have stumbled upon an unexpected visitor, a new doll name Tilly May. She’s arrived in a mysterious package…but she looks so familiar. Could she be Annabelle’s long-lost baby sister? It’ll take a runaway adventure to find out for sure. Are the dolls ready for a life on the road?

My Overall Review:

Lately I seem to have been choosing lots of books out of series. First Death By Latte, then The Princess Plot, and now this. I didn’t realize until we got to the part of Mean Mimi, that for sure there were some previous books before this.

I think this book was absolutely lovely.

I felt a bit sad, when I read about all the dolls, just waiting for someone to take them home. Especially poor Angelica, who had a worn mouth. I was thankful when the authors added in Charlie, who took the worn out dolls to the Doll Hospital.

I also have to admit that Mean Mimi freaked me out. It reminded me of the Goosebumps series, and the actual T.V show that gave me nightmares as a little child. I was thankful when Annabelle was awoken from her hallucination. I sure hope when I read the second book in the series (The Meanest Doll In The World) I will be able to keep myself together.

The illustrations by Brian Selznick brought the book to life. I throughly enjoyed the black and white drawings that laced the pages.

I love how the authors brought each and every character to life. From Tilly’s silly (but reasonable) questions, the younger boys’ attitudes, Tiffany’s friendship, and Annabelle’s worries, everything was so realistic!

It was a good book, and I would recommend to anyone looking for a good, and mystery-filled read.

✮✮✮✮

 

 

Comment Your Awesome Sauce Opinion!

